PDA

View Full Version : Shaivite refutation Of Advaita

Omkara
27 August 2012, 10:41 PM
http://www.scribd.com/doc/101791730/Ved%C4%81nta-vs-%C5%9Aaiva-Tantra

wundermonk
28 August 2012, 12:01 AM
Could you outline, in your own words, what the arguments and the counter arguments are?

Omkara
28 August 2012, 12:18 AM
I will be outlining Abhinavagupta's polemic as and when I get time.First though,two of his arguments not mentioned in the article I posted.

Please note here that I am studying Abhinavagupta's philosophy and his views do not necessarily reflect mine.

He argues that even knowledge (jnana) is an activity (kriya) of the Divine,without activity the Divine Being would be inert and incapable of bringing about anything, least of all the whole cosmos. Parmshiva is svatantra (has free will) and therefore is a Karta (doer). Knowledge (jnana) is not a passive state of consciousness but an activity of consciousness, though an effortless one. Knowledge is not really like the reflection of moon in a pond; in knowledge there is an active “grasping” on the part of the knower which is an activity of mind (kriya).So the Advaitin argument that Brahman is inactive is refuted.

In Tantraloka,Abhinavagupta says that Shankara's philosophy is not true monism as it implies the eternal existence of two entities – Brahaman and Avidya, which amounts to clear dualism.

I would request you go through this thread http://www.hindudharmaforums.com/showthread.php?t=270 before we discuss the topic further.

Omkara
28 August 2012, 12:40 AM
The advaitin says that that experience world keeps man in bondage and is to be shunned through sannyasa.Abhinavagupta says the world is the source of both bondage and liberation, and understanding the world as a manifestation of Shiva can give liberation just like a thorn is used to remove another thorn.