PDA

View Full Version : Vegetarianism and Diabetes

Webimpulse
30 December 2012, 05:32 PM
Namaste all,

I have an important question. It concerns vegetarianism - I honestly don't want to debate if being vegetarian is required to be a Hindu or not, but while I'm not vegetarian at present, I do want to make the switch when I am ready. There is one complication: I'm diabetic. Type 2. :(

Sadly, meat is one of the few foods out there that doesn't send my blood sugar into low orbit, I've discovered. I'm definitely not eating beef, so that's a start for me, but if I am to take vegetarianism any further than that, I'm going to need some help.

Another complication is that I'm a terrible cook. Anything more complicated than microwaving a TV dinner or boiling pasta and I always mess it up somehow. :o

So yeah, I'm kind of in a rut here...if anyone has any advice whatsoever, I'd love to hear it. Just remember, whatever you suggest has to be diabetic-friendly. :p

Jodhaa
30 December 2012, 07:23 PM
Namaste, Webimpulse,

It's my opinion that if you have a medical condition that prevents you from practicing vegetarianism in a healthy way, the karmic impact would be lessened, if there at all. But I'm not an expert on vegetarianism or SD, so hopefully members with more information can be more helpful.

From what I've experienced from eating vegetarian lunches at Temple, plus trying to transition to vegetarianism myself - it is almost impossible to get rid of starches and carbohydrates. Dal and lentils are packed with lots of protein, but they are also extremely carby.

I even did a search once for "Low-Carb, vegetarian cookbooks" and came up empty handed. (I don't necessarily need low carb, but my husband wanted to do a low-carb diet which usually = lots of meat. )

I hope someone here can offer resources for you. Best of luck!