PDA

View Full Version : Hello!

Janyananda Saraswati
20 February 2013, 12:18 PM
I am a new member and just wanted to introduce myself. I am a devotee of Shree Maa of Kamakhya and Swami Satyananda Saraswati of Devi Mandir in Napa, CA. I am also the General Secretary of a new spiritual organization, the Anahata Chakra Satsanga, which combines Indian spirituality and Western philosophy. I have been practicing Hinduism for several years in addition to my philosophical and natural health writing. I am a former Christian minister and am trained in philosophy and theology. I teach philosophy and religion at the University of South Carolina Aiken. I would be interested in hearing how other people balance career, family, and spirituality, especially how you make time for sadhana.

Eastern Mind
20 February 2013, 07:33 PM
Vannakkam: Welcome to these forums, JS. As per sadhana, it should be top priority, but not necessarily a long sadhana. You can also build it into the day, like chanting while driving, that sort of thin.

Aum Namasivaya

ShivaFan
20 February 2013, 10:09 PM
Namaste JS

Welcome to the HDF. I noticed you mentioned the Devi Mandir Napa and Shree Maa and Swami Satyananda Saraswati. I am one of those "temple crazy" people who likes to visit temples - all over the world if and when given a chance actually.

I have visited the Devi Mandir on several occasions as part of my love for visiting temples - actually I recall the first visit, the "Devi Temple" (now Mandir) wasn't located in Napa, but I recall driving up a steep road not far from Saint Mary's College in Moraga, and that was a long, long time ago. Later of course, the Mandir was then located in Martinez, and now it is in Napa. Me and my family have met both Shree Ma and Sw. Satyananda Saraswati on several occasions, and once when me and my wife visited the Devi Temple in Martinez we were the only ones there at the time and had a long, personal and enjoyable conversation with the Swami, along with some bhajans.