PDA

View Full Version : Temple Community, Personal Goals, and Cultural Divide

Anima Deorum
02 June 2013, 09:28 PM
Namaste my friends,

I have been singing the chalisas, bhajans, and stutis in my temple during puja.

I asked if there were copies of the temple prayer book for sale in the gift shop, and the man behind the counter replied by saying it is in three languages (It's actually Sanskrit, transliterated into three alphabets: Hindi/Devanagari, Gujarati, and Latin). Then he asked me if I could read them, which I thought was odd (I don't imagine most devotees read Sanskrit). I told him that I couldn’t, and that’s why I wanted to take one home to study. Then he asked me if it was for a school project. I told him “no” (I've been coming to puja for two months).

Anyway, he was nice and explained that the temple is revising them, hence the shortage. He took my name and phone number and made a phone call to check on the prayer books. He said they would call me when they got some in. Hopefully, they will, as I absolutely adore our Deities and their songs.

I’m attributing the awkwardness of this social exchange to a cultural gap and the oddity of my presence at the temple. We both had a different set of social expectations that were challenged. I certainly didn’t mean to be a nuisance. He probably doesn’t know that I am learning Sanskrit and Hindi for spiritual purposes.