PDA

View Full Version : where to begin?

openedeyes
03 April 2019, 04:48 PM
I'm pretty new to all of this stuff being raised in the west. I believe in giving respect where respect is due and Siva seems to me to be the purest form of God in any religion. I try to honor him through his son. I have a Ganesha murti on a small table in my home which I light incense to a few times a week while chanting "om gam ganapataye namaha". what I would like to know is what rituals and prayers are there to better respect God and what scriptures can I read to learn them and better understand. I've read the Bagavad gita and Ramayana both are beautiful but didn't give me much insight into daily prayers or how to make offerings to God.

timetraveler
10 April 2019, 04:48 PM
I recommend Sri Ramakrishna Kathamritha, the Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna, this explains very much. . . 'what need for a fan when the Southern wind blows of itself?'

Above the rest, more than anything is remembering God. Nama Smarana, remembering the name of God.

It is correct to worship Lord Ganapati before any endeavor, and customary. Ganapati, Ganesha, Gananatha, Gajanana are all names for Ganapati.

There is an endless amount of information on spiritual topics. . . It's truly infinite.

As to your main question, offering food to God is one of the main activities. But the main point is the feeling of love, and devotion.

If love is there, all other practices are secondary. But rituals are useful and important, it helps keep one steady to have a daily routine. (Of good habits).

Most important is truthfulness, peace, kindness, and so forth.. So sending time alone is very good.

Main thing above all is to care for every being as much as God, as sacred, and wish for the welfare of all of them.

When we see every being, from an ant to a tree to a deva (God or angel,) as being holy and divine, a manifestation of God and love, that's when we will see God.