PDA

View Full Version : What are Gana, Varna and the rest?

suresh
31 July 2007, 12:43 AM
Dear Scholars,

I am a newbie as far as VA (and this forum!) is concerned. But I do have a doubt on varna, gana and the rest mentioned in a person's horoscope. What do they actually signify-a person's nature, caste etc.? Is it only used to check marriage compatibility?

Some insight on this would be helpful. Suppose a person belongs to rakshas gana, does that mean he's born with demonic qualities? http://www.mysticboard.com/vedic_astrology/images/smiles/013.gif I am not sure I understand. Is there any (astro) significance at all to these factors, if so, how do they influence a person's future?

Suresh

yajvan
31 July 2007, 10:23 PM
Hari Om
~~~~~

Dear Scholars,

I am a newbie as far as VA (and this forum!) is concerned. But I do have a doubt on varna, gana and the rest mentioned in a person's horoscope. What do they actually signify-a person's nature, caste etc.? Is it only used to check marriage compatibility?

Some insight on this would be helpful. Suppose a person belongs to rakshas gana, does that mean he's born with demonic qualities? http://www.mysticboard.com/vedic_astrology/images/smiles/013.gif I am not sure I understand. Is there any (astro) significance at all to these factors, if so, how do they influence a person's future? Suresh

Namaste Suresh,
a valid question that takes substantial time to explain... if you would be so kind as to first read Nakshatra's post 1, 2 and 3, this will create the foundation; and Jyotish the eyes of the ved post, then 1,2 3 there also.
this creates the spring board for conversations. You will see these as some of the first posts, in this Jyotish folder.

pranams,

Arvind Sivaraman
31 July 2007, 11:15 PM
Dear Scholars,