PDA

View Full Version : Meditation in Shaivism?

srivijaya
08 January 2008, 09:56 AM
As someone who meditates regularly, I have gained a great admiration for the Shaivite texts I have read. This is due to the fact that I believe I may have witnessed some of the things described therein whilst within the state of Samhadi. I have always felt a strong affinity towards Shiva and Shakti and so was happy to have stumbled upon this forum, whose members seem very well informed and serious.

I have no background of study into Shaivism, beyond that of the most shallow dilettante, and my meditation has brought me to a stage where I now have little wish to classify myself as anything at all! I am, however, interested in higher meditative instruction, as taught by the various Shaivite schools. The teachings of the Non-dual Shaivism of Kashmir especially resonate.

May I ask how the tantric and non-tantric schools differ in their approach to meditation?

Namaste

srivijaya
09 January 2008, 06:51 AM
In order to provide more background on some of the Shaivite material that has been directly beneficial within my practice, or has inspired me, I have included some links below. I'm in no position to objectively judge the content, so any feedback would be welcome. I have also enjoyed reading the posts that contributors have placed in this forum and shall continue to do so.

http://www.universalshaivafellowship.org/usf/swamiji.html

http://www.sanskrit-sanscrito.com.ar/english/trika_meditation/meditation1.html

A personal favorite:
http://www.spiritual-teachers.com/returntoshiva.htm

With 27 views and no replies, I sincerely hope that I have not caused any offense.

Namaste

sm78
09 January 2008, 07:06 AM
May I ask how the tantric and non-tantric schools differ in their approach to meditation?

Namaste