PDA

View Full Version : Saiva Scriptures?

Emily
28 February 2008, 05:55 PM
Namaste!

I am very new to these forums, but so far you all seem like a kind, helpful and knowledgeable bunch. I would like to introduce myself, and ask a couple of questions.

I am a 21 year-old college student, studying psychology. About six months ago, I learned about Hindu beliefs really for the first time and realized that they were the same as my own (general concepts such as karma, reincarnation, maya, moksha, one god or absolute reality that manifests in different ways, the idea that truth is one, but the paths to get there are many, etc). As soon as I discovered this, I knew I had to explore further - I thought the best way to do that was to read scriptures.

The first time I ever read a Hindu scripture - the Isa Upanishad - I was so overcome with peace and bliss that I wept uncontrollably, and couldn't even finish the reading! I still weep regularly (out of joy!) when reading scriptures. I feel like I have found the path I've been searching for my whole life.

I can't explain exactly why, but I am called towards Lord Siva, and I know that Saivism is the path for me. When I think of God and reality, Nataraja automatically comes to my mind. Lord Siva's dance is the most profound and beautiful explanation for the universe and God's role in it that I could ever imagine. Contemplating Lord Siva's dance brings me peace, calmness and closeness to God that I have never known.