View Full Version : Bhakti yoga, gnyan yoga and karma yoga through Gayatri mantra

16 May 2006, 03:06 PM
Atmiya all,

I am a Gayatri upasak and a proud desciple of Vedmurty, taponistha Pt.Shriram Sharma Acharyaji, the founder of All world Gayatri Pariwar. According to his literature, one of the interpretation of Gayatri as Tripada is as follows;

The gayatri mantra has three charans in it;

1. Om Bhur bhuvah swah - Bhakti yoga
Om - Pranav, the name of God
Bhu, bhuvah and swah - Akash, patal and pruthvi
This part of Gayatri mantra makes you belive that the God is in all three places

2. tat savitu varenyam bhargo devasya dheemahi - Gnyan yoga

tat - that - the God
savitu - illuminous like sun
varenyam - the best
bhargo - who destrys our sins
devasya - devine
dheemahi - we have

This part of Gayatri mantra gives you the highest knowledge that, we are having the qualities of God.

3. Dhiyo yonah prachodayat - Karma yoga

Dhiyo - intellect
yonah - righteous path
prachodayat - takes forcefully

Take our intellect to a righteous path forcefully

Once your intellect becomes righteous, you do do everything as your duty without expecting the fruit of actions.

Gayatri is the Yug Shakti today. Righteous intellect is the requirement of this age.

Datta Pandya

17 May 2006, 04:51 AM

According to several orthodox Upanishads, complete Gayatri has got four parts and not three.

The last one is "paro rajase.asAvadom," as per Tripuratapini-upanishad; acc. to other sourses, it is "Apo jyotI raso .amR^itam brahma bhUr bhuvas suvarom."

17 May 2006, 01:52 PM

Not several upanishads but few upanishads.
Not sure about classfication of Upanishad as Orthodox and non orthodox

Gayathri indeed is said to lost some words and gained a few later on, hence additional phrases attached to gayathri could not be rejected, however, after the latest regaining of few words, Gayathri is said to have 3 parts.

Hence both views are correct, "3 parts" view is currently in vogue

17 May 2006, 04:40 PM
Not sure about classfication of Upanishad as Orthodox and non orthodox

108 Upanishads that are listed in Muktikopanishad are considered authorative by all Hindu sects and belong to Prasthana-trayi canon of Vedanta.

There are other Upanishads which are non-Muktika and thus heterodox (like Kalika, Advaitabhavana or Chaitanya).