PDA

View Full Version : Is Aryan Invasion True?

socialdarwinist
21 June 2008, 01:10 AM
Hi Friends, :)

I'd like to explore this controversial matter, and see if this is in line with traditional Hindu thinking.

First of all, I am NOT a novice to this theory, I've read the views presented by both parties. AIT opponents say the theory was invented by British to belittle India. Frankly, I find this hard to believe, the mighty British Empire spending so much effort to belittle any nation. Second, it seems to be more sentimental than rational, when the opponents make such claims.

On the other hand, AIT proponents have some hard evidence such as:

Skin Color: North Indians are fair, compared to South Indians.

Brahmins are generally fair, but even otherwise, they have distinct Caucasian features, which are missing in non-Brahmins, even the fair-skinned non-brahmins.

Patterns in history: In the last thousand years or so, India has been a prey to invasion by practically all foreign forces. So isn't it logical to conclude that the same India has been invaded by the Aryans from Europe at an earlier date?

Religion: Shaivism is popular in South, and Vaishnavism in the North.

Literature: Veda is quite clear that fair-skinned Aryans fought dark Dravidians. There's no way around it, it's not possible to say everything is an allegory. Moreover, the skin color factor is still present in India (fair north/dark south), and this corroborates the vedic theory.

Present: Most inventions, science, arts, literature etc. have come from the Caucasian race. So it's easy for an AIT proponent to conclude that this must've been the case in ancient India as well.

There's much more, but we'll focus on this for the time being. Please remember that these are NOT my personal views, but a general observation on why AIT appears so appealing to most people. It's got powerful arguments in its favor.