PDA

View Full Version : Karma in Lawyers' Dharma

saidevo
23 July 2008, 09:56 PM
The concept of fair justice involves lawyers defending adharmic people, uttering blatant lies cooked up by crooked research, even betraying the nation's culture, values and integrity. Any other profession seems to provide a choice between being fair, foul or fiendish.

How does karma affect the lawyers in their professions? The concept of fair justice is time immemorial, so somebody must have played the lawyer's role in the ancient and not so ancient days before today's jurisprudence came into enforcement.

What do our scriptures like Manu Smriti say on this subject?

sm78
24 July 2008, 02:27 AM
Its often a crook vs another crook and in a particular case there can be only one party which has the just claims (whether they are crooks in person or not). Lawyers can still take the side of the just against the unjust.

Though I am not a lawyer but I do know one very closely, and it seemed that option of choosing between fair, foul and fiendish is much more clear and straight forward in that profession. In comparisson I spend my day in front of a computer, play with numbers and pretend (i don;t personally, but most do) that we are doing something useful for ourselvesand others (which is a big big lie) , absorb or least pretend to absorb load of corporate junk and gyans...all of which only can accomplish one thing ~ making me more worthless as a person.

In the temporal battle between just and unjust, good and evil which the human birth enforces on us, that we all must fight at some level, it is far better to be in centre of the battle ground and choose a side, than sitting on the fence and predenting we are better off. Sitting on the fence doesn't help the good, and the bad lot know we are no threat, hence helps them in a way.

One cannot stay out of kurukhestra without becoming a Dhritarastra, and i hope most people would agree (in theory at least) that the last thing one wants to be.