PDA

View Full Version : Anybody have a dead deer?

Ishvara
10 August 2008, 09:36 AM
Namaste!

I am new to the HDF so hello to all. My problem is in reference to the quote from the Gita as follows. “The place where he sits should be firm, neither too high nor too low, and situated in a clean spot. He should first cover it with sacred grass, then with a deer skin; then lay a cloth over these.”

I have come to understand that the neutralizing energy of deeskin and Kusha grass in conducive towards meditation. Also that the earth acts like an earth wire drawing down the divine energy flowing through you thus inhibiting your meditation. Therfore I would like to get a Deerskin and a Kusha grass mat to prevent this.

I live in the UK does anydody know where to get Kusha grass or Deerskin. Now I may be able to get the grass but finding the skin of a Deer that has NOT been killed and that has died naturally so that it doesn't conflict with the principle of Ahimsa is difficult. What do you all use for meditation, does anybody here have or Deerskin, or maybe even a tigerskin for tantra? Perhaps you know a good website or person to contact.

Anybody have a dead Deer lying about?

yajvan
10 August 2008, 01:14 PM
Hari Om
~~~~~

Namaste!

What do you all use for meditation, does anybody here have or Deerskin, or maybe even a tigerskin for tantra? Perhaps you know a good website or person to contact. Anybody have a dead Deer lying about?

Namaste Ishvara,
Let me offer a few points. If you are beginning to meditate the first thing I would pursue is to insure you have your proper technique and are about to move to nivṛtti - that is ceasing from duality, closing the eyes and transcending inwards. This inward (nivṛtti) and outward (pravṛtti) natural movement is what will bring you to your goal.