PDA

View Full Version : Objects of meditation in Raja Yoga.

FlipAsso
06 April 2009, 12:45 PM
I've kind of posted this question in the Jnana Yoga section, but It seems more apropriate to put it here, since it is concerned with the Raja Yoga tradition.

What are the objects used for meditation in Raja Yoga?
I've not yet read the Yoga Sutras and this question is probably answered there, but...

When I studied Swasthya Yoga, which is a westernized school which claims to be the most ancient of all schools, I learnt that one can meditate, on Mantra (sound), Yantra (image) and Tantra (which was only for initate students and was secret knowledge).

I want to know if there is this kind of meditation in Raja Yoga, i.e., I would like to meditate on witnessing.
Witnessing mental and body fenomena while they arise and not taking part on them.
This kind of meditation is sometimes called, objectless, or unstructured meditation, and it seems to me that the only fixed object of concentration (Dharana), is the act of witnessing itself.

Does this exist in Raja Yoga?
Can this practice culminate in Samadhi?

yogin
17 April 2009, 01:03 AM
Concentration without an object is called asamprajnata samadhi by Patanjali.

Philippe*
17 April 2009, 02:39 AM
Hi,

The object can be any object of Prakriti/Nature, there are two kinds of objects : sthula/gross, ex: image of a god, or sukshma/subtle (or subtle aspect of an object) ex: the deity. To the first class correspond savitarka and nirvitarka samadhis and to the second class correspond savicara and nirvicara samadhis, all of them are classified as sabija samadhis/samadhis with object or seed. There is an object of concentration and there are still some subliminal activators/samskaras in citta/mind produced, these constitute the karma ashaya/karma deposit. Objects belong to Prakriti which is in constant change (parinamavada), so there is no fixed object in time.