PDA

View Full Version : Kundalini in Yoga

DavidC
19 October 2009, 06:47 AM
11 years ago I started doing Hatha Yoga and then Ashtanga based on Sris Krishnamacharya & Jois. I looked at Kundalini, Evolution, and Enlightenment and maybe read about chakras. Very soon afterwards I went through a very difficult life period in which things happened such as me not thinking intellectual college studies were very spiritual, and prana causing a few heat blisters on my feet and arm. One day in a half hour meditation I got into a state in which I realized atma-jyoti (consciousness) was real and beyond the body. People thought I was crazy after I got very into Zen, but that was not the only reason and neither was it that I was young and unwise. Later I studied Taoist Yoga, read many of the world's philosophical/sacred texts, talked to a transpersonal psychologist who knew about the rest of the spine nadis, and my realization consciousness was beyond the body was verified again in dreams in which I was conscious and nothing was there but my ghost and the real world slightly obscured by colourful 'fogginess.'

I read Gopi Krishna's The Evolutionary Energy in Man, Swami Sivananda's Kundalini Yoga and his disciple's Kundalini Yoga for The West, books by Ajit Mookerjee, Mary Scott, Lee Sannella, an in-depth one by a Laya Yogi who apparently did not practice ahimsa, and many others, and I skimmed and am in Woodroffe's The Serpent Power and Sri Venugopolan's The Hidden Mysteries of Kundalini.