PDA

View Full Version : Namaste!

lakshya_0_7
10 November 2009, 01:15 AM
Namaste everyone!
i am a newbie to this community, i am glad i found this forum.
Something abt myself - i was born in India to hindu parents. Spend 12 years of my childhood in an islamic country, our family went back to india for good and I moved to US last year.
My parents arenot very religious. Mom performs hindu rituals, my dad doesnt. I remember watching Ramayana and Mahabharata on TV in my Grandpa's lap, loved the philosophy but never took it seriously. As a student of science i lost faith in religions and i call myself "agnostic", but dont know why am attracted to Sanatan Dharma, i think i believe in the values and principles of SD.
I lived with a hardcore Christian family for 5 months last year when i had just moved to US. Nice people but with stereotypical view of other religions specially hinduism, used to debate with them almost daily abt God and religion. Since then i have started looking for answers about things around me.
I dont think i could call myself a Hindu as i have no idea abt Vedas, never read Gita. i hardly pray. i would like to know more about SD and meet like minded people.
All i am looking for, is a peaceful, purposeful, spiritually enriching life! isn't that what we all want?

Naveen

sanjaya
10 November 2009, 02:06 AM