PDA

View Full Version : My intro and some of my beliefs.

Nick
27 April 2010, 01:46 PM
Hi.

This intro is long. If I shouldn't have posted some of this in the intro, I apologize.

I am a seeker, someone who hasn't yet found a religion that matches what I believe in. Don't worry. I am not looking to "convert" to another's religion. I feel that God has set before me a path that I refuse wholeheartedly to turn from. Whether or not others follow that same path matters not. All paths lead to the same Creator. Should others share my faith and have gone on that path before me, then there should be scriptures and traditions which hopefully should help me navigate that path.

I was raised Christian, but I could never agree with certain aspects and the dogma didn't stick. I looked into Judaism and Islam, but neither of those matched my faith. I studied for a few years with a small neopagan fellowship, the only other local religion. What they teach is closer to what I believe in, but still is off. For example, I don't agree with duality, among other things. But since what they taught was closest to my faith, I stayed with them, as I did enjoy the religious companionship and spirituality. But ultimately, after a few years, I could not justify staying in a religion, practicing rituals and dogma that was not for me. Their rituals had less and less meaning for me. My heart wasn't in it anymore, so I left. I miss that companionship and spirituality, but I knew that I was a distraction to them with my other points of view. Even when I was with that fellowship, I still did my own rituals at home every morning and evening. Since I left, I have basically practiced my faith alone.