PDA

View Full Version : Getting started

RobbH
11 May 2010, 02:09 AM
If someone wanted to follow the Sanatana Dharma, and in particular sought to worship Lord Shiva, where would be the best place to start.

I'm a complete novice to this vast subject, and so any help given would be greatly appreciated.

Darji
11 May 2010, 06:37 PM
Easy! speak to Eastern Mind, for a canuck he's not too bad and has been a loyal devotee to Siva ever since the ice age. :)

Eastern Mind
11 May 2010, 07:02 PM
Vannakam :

Darji: I must yap too much if you know that much about me and you've only been here a month. I know nothing really.

Aum Namasivaya

Ashvati
11 May 2010, 09:35 PM
Nonsense. Shall I foreward him the message you sent me about Saivism, with all the links?

Eastern Mind
11 May 2010, 10:07 PM
Vannakkam:

It's okay. If any seeker gets persistent, they can find answers. It is Ganesha's job to guide, so the signs come along. Ganesha is like a fisherman fishing for souls who are ready to take the bait. Some of us get hooked.

But in reality, I AM a fool, compared to some of the inner sages. They just operate on totally different levels. We try hard to go in, to meditate, to seek refuge from the chaos of the world deep within. We have to go to temples to see God. They just have to shut their eyes, and breathe. The mystic sages have to put that much effort into coming out into normal consciousness just in order to function. Imagine Ramana Maharshi trying to drive a car.

Aum Namasivaya

Darji
12 May 2010, 02:15 AM
Perhaps I should have kept my mouth shut, problem with staying up many hours to meet deadlines is you don't really think. :doh:

Robb a choìre,
Fàilte gu HDF, tha mi airson Sanatana Dharma ionnsachadh, as well.