PDA

View Full Version : hello

himavatputridasa
15 June 2010, 10:50 AM
Pranaams to everyone,

My name is Patrick.
I am Australian, and live in Sydney, a doctor by profession.
I have been interested in sanaatanadharma for more than 20 years.
I hope to learn a bit more here -- I can see the forum has people from many different paths in sanataanadharma.
Otherwise I am interested in sciece (physics) and maths.

svasti vo .stu

Eastern Mind
15 June 2010, 08:22 PM
Vannakam himavat:

Welcome to HDF. I hope your stay is fruitful. Seems to be a lot of Australians here lately.

Aum Namasivaya

yajvan
15 June 2010, 09:14 PM
hariḥ oṁ
~~~~~~

namasté himavatputrīdāsaḥ ( your name in devanāgharī if I have it correct is हिमवत्पुत्रीदासः )

Welcome to the halls of HDF. A most robust name I may say: himavat + putri +dasa

himavat is himālaya + putri or putrī is a son or child + dasaš - I am sure you mean dāsa or dāsaḥ ? yes? meaning servant

Hence the son & servant of the himālaya-s

praṇām
1. dasa is defined as a demon. dāsa can also be certain beings conquered by indra i.e. namuci , pipru , śambara , varcin, etc.

Darji
15 June 2010, 09:39 PM
Seems to be a lot of Australians here lately.

Yes and Shaiva's as well. Might have to pack my vaishnava bags and seek higher ground :P

Jai Siyaram

BTW Welcome Doc!

NayaSurya
15 June 2010, 09:42 PM
That's a very beautiful name, welcome<3

isavasya
15 June 2010, 10:11 PM
Hello Himavatputridasa

Your name is very beautiful:), welcome to the forums.

Yajvan ji, just a little correction.
Himavat = king of mountains, himalayas, might be representing father of uma himavati (just father of her Uma's incarnation, she doesn't has any father as eternal adi parashakti)

putri= daughter

dasa = servant, devotee

so one meaning of name may be devotee of daughter of himalayas = Devotee of parvati devi, the eternal mother of this universe.

yajvan
15 June 2010, 10:51 PM
hariḥ oṁ
~~~~~~

namast&#233; isavasya,

Yajvan ji, just a little correction.