PDA

View Full Version : Can Vaishnavism AND advaita philosophy merged?

Elizabeth108
24 June 2010, 05:10 AM
Hi,

I am new to Vaishnavism. I am very much interested in its way and teachings - that of Vaishnavism apart from ISKCON.
I have a specific question:
can advaita philosophy AND Vaisnava exist side by side /merged practiced by the same person? Or is it against the Vaishnava scriptures

What do Vaishnavas think about the advaita philosophy?

Onkara
25 June 2010, 07:30 AM
Hi Elizabeth
Good question. It depends on the final goal. For Sri Ramanuja the goal is not jivanmukta (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jivanmukta), liberation whilst living as it is for Advaita but kaivalya (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaivalya). For Sri Ramanuja the outcome is supreme bhakti or prapatti. This however is not as clear for the Advaitin because once the Advaitin realises that the world is a superimposition there is no desirable goal as such in bhakti, as bhakti is for attainment of moksha.

For Sri Ramanuja the purpose after Kaivalya continues to be service of Lord Krishna as one realises that one is a Sesa (or a depended liege of the Lord). So one continues to perform bhakti just as before this realisation.

Both Sri Ramanuja and Sri Adi Shankara are non-dual: The whole manifest comes from Brahman as the Upanishads assert, however for Ramanuja the world is not a superimposition due to Maya and so the physical dependence on the Lord's grace still remains after realisation.

We can approach this from another angle if required :)

In my personal opinion it is possible to worship Krishna/Vishnu whilst trying to understand Advaita. To my knowledge there is no reason to not embrace both, but that too depends on our aptitude to be able to be clear when we practice Bhakti or other yogas.

devotee
25 June 2010, 08:34 AM
Hi,

I am new to Vaishnavism. I am very much interested in its way and teachings - that of Vaishnavism apart from ISKCON.
I have a specific question: