PDA

View Full Version : New devotee question!

xAtlasx
06 July 2010, 03:33 PM
Hey guys!

I'm pretty new at Hinduism being a convert and all, but one of the things that I read on a site (I can't remember where exactly) is that a method of Bhakti, when a devotee doesn't have the funds or the space, you can sit in meditation and visualize your puja in your mind.

Ya know, sing praises visualize a ritual space in front of you offer God the flowers and pastes etc.

Is this an accepted practice?

Does anyone have any tips?

Eastern Mind
06 July 2010, 04:24 PM
Vannakkam xAtlasx:

Interesting question. The terminology 'accepted practice' can be confusing. We are just so vast, and old members on here like me are constantly reminding ourselves of that fact. What is acceptable to some may not be to others. Hinduism does not have and never will have some sort of universal moral or practice creed or set of rules. It relies on the hearts and common sense of the individuals within it to do that.

Is it acceptable practice with you? You're the one that counts.

Sounds like a great idea to me. I've heard of it, yet never been in a place or time where I needed to practice it. It shows respect towards deities. Certainly silent repetition of a mantra instead of voicing japa is done a lot.

Enjoy the sadhana.

Aum Namasivaya

Ganeshprasad
06 July 2010, 04:56 PM
Pranam xAtlasx
Welcom to the forum

The practice you are looking for i think would be Shiv Manas Puja

I like this chant check it out

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-JtdztuijY

and its meaning

http://www.ganesh.us/mantara/shiva-manas-puja.html

Jai Shree Krishna

xAtlasx
06 July 2010, 05:14 PM
Thank you guys for your quick responses, I'm learning so much all over this site! :)

Ramakrishna
06 July 2010, 09:43 PM
Namaste xAtlasx,