PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions

NormalName
17 October 2010, 01:59 PM
Hi, I'm new to reading the Bhagavad Gita but not completely new to these ideas. Also, I'm not Hindu...

Anyway, I have some questions and thoughts I'd love to hear what people think of. Some may be naive or silly, but they seem real to me.

1. Why does Krishna (or the universe or whatever) care if we practice the things that bring Moksha? Why is there an affirmative push by a deity towards these qualities?

2. Conversely, why does Krishna (or the univese or whatever) actively punish those who do not achieve Moksha in this life with a worse incarnation? "Life after life I cast those who are malicious, hateful, cruel and degraded into the wombs of those with similar demonic natures...". Why would Krishna make it harder for such people to achieve Moksha?

3. If it is an illusion to see ourselves as separate from other people and other things, then are we not part of the lust, hate, greed (as well as love, creativity, generosity) that makes up humanity? If I see someone gratifying his or her ego with outlandish clothes and I feel happy that they're expressing themselves, am I celebrating indulgence of a false sense of self?

4. What if the entire set of beliefs exists solely to keep people from questioning why some people are incredibly wealthy? In other words, what if this is false consciousness and mystification which serves the elites?

5. What if Moksha itself is impossible? What if becoming one with the entire universe is in essence "exhausting" - requiring continuous effort to remain in that state? What if in turn such beings eventually ask to be returned to a body in order to rest (paradoxically)?

Forgive me if any of these questions is silly or offensive. I found the Gita to be incredibly useful and I am now reading Gandhi's commentaries on them.

Thanks!

Eastern Mind
18 October 2010, 06:48 AM