PDA

View Full Version : Rig Veda Yoking

earthpossum
18 October 2010, 09:31 PM
It is said that the first reference of Yoga as Yoking is found in the Rig Veda. I am a student of Yoga and I am searching for the correct reference in the Rig Veda to the reference of Yoga as Yoking. (Book, Hymn, Verse) I have only been looking in the Griffiths translation doing a search on the english words Yoga and Yolking but nothing comes up. I am hoping someone here is knowledgeable in the Rig Veda, I can not read sanskrit and the only translatations I have found are in English. Namaste

yajvan
18 October 2010, 11:13 PM
hariḥ oṁ
~~~~~~

namasté earthpossom

It is said that the first reference of Yoga as Yoking is found in the Rig Veda. I am a student of Yoga and I am searching for the correct reference in the Rig Veda to the reference of Yoga as Yoking. (Book, Hymn, Verse) I have only been looking in the Griffiths translation doing a search on the english words Yoga and Yolking but nothing comes up. I am hoping someone here is knowledgeable in the Rig Veda, I can not read sanskrit and the only translatations I have found
are in English. Namaste
I will answer your question in a moment, yet let me if I may expand the conversation just a bit. When you say yoga , or student of yoga, are you thinking haṭha or perhaps aṣṭāṅga yoga we find in patañjali’s yogadarśana? Patañjali’s first words on this matter are the following :
yogaś citta-vṛtti-nirodhaḥ

yogaś - process of yoking; union from 'yuj'
citta - as a noun it is thinking , reflecting , imagining , thought; some put this as active mind
vṛtti - ' rolling , or rolling down' i.e. patterning, turnings, movements.
nirodhaḥ - suppression , destruction ; some prefer stilling, cessation, restrictionHow I see this yoga
Yoga योग is rooted in yuj the act of yoking , joining , attaching , harnessing. But to what? To the Supreme, to bind one back to the source, to yoke one back to anuttara ( the Supreme).