PDA

View Full Version : Where to begin?

HumbleStudent
14 November 2010, 01:53 PM
I live in a small town in Colorado with a population of roughly 100,000. I have searched the net and cannot find a temple here. Does anyone have any ideas of how I might find other Hindu's?

I have been studying Hinduism for the past five months and find it incredible. It has all the answers that I have been searching for. Now I need to know where to start. How does one become a true Hindu? Is it a believe or a geographical birth right? Would I be accepted in the Hindu community since I am a Westerner?

Please point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance!

Eastern Mind
14 November 2010, 08:01 PM
Vannakkam HumbleStudent:

This is a great place to start. Hinduism is vast, and most points of view on most topics are here. One of the nearest temples to you would be Salt lake City, but that's quite a drive, I would imagine.

You can get a lot of info on the net just by searching. If you have some sense of what type of philosophy or deity attracts you, we can probably point you in more specific directions.

BTW, you are not alone as a westerner here. There are several of us, old and young alike, and it is totally possible to become or practise Hinduism despite what some of our Hindu traditionalists might say. Good luck on your upcoming exploration.

Aum Namasivaya

Believer
15 November 2010, 08:35 AM
I have been studying Hinduism for the past five months and find it incredible. It has all the answers that I have been searching for. Now I need to know where to start. How does one become a true Hindu? Is it a believe or a geographical birth right? Would I be accepted in the Hindu community since I am a Westerner?

Please point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance!
Dear HumbleStudent,

First of all, welcome to the Hindu Forum.

Eastern Mindji has provided you with some good info above. Here is some more,