PDA

View Full Version : Religion vs Science study help

MikeW
08 March 2011, 03:49 AM
Hello, my name is Michael and I am a post graduate student currently performing research into the psychology of religion for my Msc with the Open University. My research is in measuring similarities and differences between scientific and religious thought. In this study I am looking at levels of open-mindedness between those who have religious belief and those who do not. I am in need of participants and I was wondering if there would be any chance of anyone helping me out by taking my survey? It only takes 5 minutes to complete and it is completely anonymous. If you would like to look at the survey this is the link:

http://www.surveygizmo.com/s3/434062/Composite-Actively-Open-Minded-Scale

I really would appreciate greatly any help you could give me. If you have any questions please feel free to email me at michaelwhitehouse@live.co.uk or post here . Thank you for your time.

sanjaya
09 March 2011, 12:39 PM
I'd be happy to take your survey. But while I don't know anything about psychology, I do know about statistics. Won't soliciting participants specifically from a Hindu forum introduce a nonrandom sample and thus cause some (probably non-measurable) bias in your data? Furthermore, this forum has biases that are specific to our group of Hindus, which may be statistically significant with respect to the general population of Hindus. For example, just awhile back we were talking about how many of us make anti-Christian comments on a frequent basis. Thus if you were to ask (for example) "how negatively do you view Christianity on a scale of 1 to 10", the responses of people here may be several standard deviations away from the mean of a random sample of Hindus. There are of course many other biases to consider, such as the large fraction of Western Hindus, etc.

Maybe something to consider. Or maybe not; again I don't know much about psychology.

Eastern Mind