PDA

View Full Version : Questions about candles and incense

namahsivaya
06 April 2011, 08:25 PM
Namaste all,

I am wondering if it would be appropriate for me to use a flashlight in place of a candle during my worship. My current circumstances don't permit me to use candles. I am just talking about during puja.

I have never used candles before, even when I was able to. But lately I have been thinking and remembering from my observations as well that candles are kind of common during puja that people do. Incense is as well.

But I am not sure of the exact significance of candles and incense during puja. When you wave the candle around in front of the deity, is it to help summon the deity's presence for the puja? Or is it to get blessings from the deity? Also, what role does incense play? I have seen some people keep the candles lit after the puja is over. How long do you generally keep them lit for? Would it be okay to put it out right after the puja? I read somewhere that some people keep candles lit 24/7.

I know practices vary with people, but I would like to know what you personally do with candles and/or incense during your puja. Also, I would like to know if a flashlight can be used instead. I know it may sound kind of dumb, but I guess if candles are important and I'm not able to use them then maybe a flashlight would work instead.

Aum Namah Sivaya

sanjaya
07 April 2011, 09:35 AM