PDA

View Full Version : Hello Everyone

SOV
17 April 2011, 11:38 PM
Hi there,
I am a student of vedanta(sov). I am from the smarta tradition which is followed in some parts of south india. I am very much impressed with advaita siddhanta and ready to start off with that shraddha. Academically, i want to see what are the tikas(criticisms) against this siddhanta and also what the other view is. Not to create any noise here, but to have more shraddha in this siddhanta, so that i can gain deeper understanding.

That apart, i am looking forward to make good friends and know the lifestyle of the folks here.
Cheers

Water
17 April 2011, 11:54 PM
Hi there,
I am a student of vedanta(sov). I am from the smarta tradition which is followed in some parts of south india. I am very much impressed with advaita siddhanta and ready to start off with that shraddha. Academically, i want to see what are the tikas(criticisms) against this siddhanta and also what the other view is. Not to create any noise here, but to have more shraddha in this siddhanta, so that i can gain deeper understanding.

That apart, i am looking forward to make good friends and know the lifestyle of the folks here.
Cheers

Hello and welcome!

I actually had some questions for someone like you. If you can, could you help me answer them?

What is the difference between Advaita Vedanta and Smarti tradition?

In some of my readings, "Smartism" is described as liberal Hinduism. In other readings, it suggests that Smarti tradition is an arduous and extremely orthodox tradition. Which is correct and do you know why this dual-definition seems to exist?

Also, where are you from?

SOV
18 April 2011, 01:17 AM
hi water,