PDA

View Full Version : Namaste. :)

cmorel02
19 April 2011, 03:57 PM
Hello, I am completely new to hinduism, but relize there are different "paths" one can take in the religion, and I think that the Shivaiya Dharma is calling to me. But I really do hope to learn a lot from this website.

I had just a little question though...I am gay and ran across some statements that suggest Hinduism accepts homosexuality, while others say it is condemned. Can you guys enlighten me on this...? :confused:

Ramakrishna
19 April 2011, 11:47 PM
Namaste cmorel02,

Welcome to HDF. What you read is exactly correct. Sanatana Dharma is very vast, and some Hindus see nothing wrong with homosexuality while others condemn it. One thing to note though is that even those Hindus who condemn homosexuality, generally do not condemn it or demonize it to the level that the Abrahamic religions do. I wish you the best of luck on your journey.

Jai Sri Ram

wundermonk
20 April 2011, 07:25 AM
I had just a little question though...I am gay and ran across some statements that suggest Hinduism accepts homosexuality, while others say it is condemned. Can you guys enlighten me on this...? :confused:

Welcome to HDF.

I personally have no idea whether Hindu texts explicitly condemn/support homosexuality. There appears to be atleast one homosexual Hindu (an expert too) here (http://en.allexperts.com/q/Hindus-946/indexExp_61921.htm).

cmorel02
20 April 2011, 07:49 AM
Thank you. It was nice to hear your opinions...:)

Water
20 April 2011, 12:05 PM
First, I am no one important and certainly not a representation of all of the members on this forum.

That being said....

There is also the connection of Ram Das to promoting bisexuality.... for what it's worth. I believe he later recalled the statements because of public outcry later. You can still find references on "pro-gay" topics that mention the advocation.