PDA

View Full Version : The Sacred Om

PatrickMB
15 June 2011, 02:35 PM
I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this topic; I hope it's okay.

I am fairly new to studying Hinduism and Indian philosophy. I have to say, however, that the Om symbol is the most beautiful, inspiring religious symbol I have ever seen. I'm not even sure why it strikes me so. But I find it magnificent.

Om Hari Om!

saidevo
15 June 2011, 10:07 PM
namaste Patrick.

Check this post for an explanation of AUM at some levels:
http://www.hindudharmaforums.com/showthread.php?t=496

For an even more elaboration, check:
http://www.hindudharmaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2661

Lilla555
11 July 2011, 11:18 AM
Hi Eveyone,

I wanted your opinion on a situation that I encountered the other day - I drove into a Shell station to get some gas-- the attendant who was a Sikh started to yell, curse and threaten me b/c of an om decal on the backbumper ofmycar.

He said that god is in the inside and the om should b in the front and inside of the car. He also threatened totake my money and kept saying "this isn't over!"

I apologized profusely explaining that as a Buddhist, imeant no disrespect.

I honestly do not understand what this was about.

Is there any validity to this man's hostile reaction?

I would really like some input.

Thanks

PatrickMB
12 July 2011, 08:32 AM
Oh my Gosh! I know next-to-nothing about Sikhs. I don't know if this fellow was mentally unbalanced or what. My advice is to never go back to that station!

I hope that someone in this community can give you sound information. All I can give you is my sympathy.

Jainarayan
12 July 2011, 09:02 AM
All the Sikhs I've ever known have been the most polite and gentle people you could meet, including the pain mangement doctor I saw after my back surgery. He told me I am a nice person! He is so nice, I regret not needing to see him anymore.