PDA

View Full Version : Nervous About Going

ScarletRose
28 August 2011, 10:28 PM
So I've been working on following the beautiful path of Sanatan Dharma, and I've wanted to attend a temple, but I'm so nervous about it. There is one where I am nearby, but I feel nervous about attending it simply because I'm a newbie, and I'm "white," so I would stand out so easily, it would just feel awkward, but I have been feeling like I should attend. I guess I could ask my Indian roommate if she can help me find someone I can go with (I can't ask her to go, she's Christian).

With the Ganesha Chaturthi coming up, and the temple here having their get together for it on the 31st, I was thinking it would be a good idea to go, but I"m so nervous about it. My fears are I'll stand out, I won't know how to dress, what to bring, what to do. I wish I wasn't so nervous about it, I want to go, but I don't know :(

Sorry about that, I'm just really nervous about it, even though I know I want to go.

Arjuni
29 August 2011, 12:22 AM
Namasté,

ScarletRose, there is no reason to apologise for being worried! It does seem scary and overwhelming, like the first day of school when you're a kid, and have no idea whether your teachers are going to educate you or eat you. (For the record, I have yet to go to the temple here, though in my case it involves factors besides fear.)

Other members have written before about things to remember for temple: wear modest clothes (covering the shoulders and legs), and if it's your first time, maybe call or e-mail the temple first to ask what you can bring, and if there's anything you should or shouldn't do.

Please understand that I'm not mocking your fear at all. I am a gigantic wuss when it comes to...you know...people, because people are big and scary and I'm still not entirely convinced they won't shoot lasers out of their eyes at me. So I really understand feeling anxious, all too well.