PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Rudraksha

Divine Kala
02 September 2011, 04:56 AM
Namaste

So... how do you clean your rudraksha? What's the best way you've found? I only found out that I'm meant to clean mine regularly - I've been wearing mine for about 5 years and I'm feeling I bit guilty for not taking care of them!

c.smith
02 September 2011, 06:56 AM
Hari Om!

Personally I have always just applied pure sandalwood oil and energized during puja with dhoop and sandal paste. Would place in sun as needed.

Found a "maintenance kit" at www.rudraksha-ratna.com (http://www.rudraksha-ratna.com) that may or not be beneficial but is subscribes to many of the same concepts that I already practice but includes a few new ones.

I do have some white "build up" for lack of a better term on a couple of the beads that I wear that the oils don't remove. Was given a solution to soak the beads in overnight that worked but never knew what was in it.

Any other suggestions would be appreciated from me as well.

Jainarayan
02 September 2011, 09:07 AM
Namaste DK, c.s., et al. :)

I found this at Rudraksha Centre also: Tips for Care (http://www.rudraksha-ratna.com/showarticles.php?artid=54). I endeavor to help. :o

Btw, I got my puja items order from them. You were right, I couldn't be happier. I am going to order a few more things.

Hari Om!

Personally I have always just applied pure sandalwood oil and energized during puja with dhoop and sandal paste. Would place in sun as needed.

Found a "maintenance kit" at www.rudraksha-ratna.com (http://www.rudraksha-ratna.com) that may or not be beneficial but is subscribes to many of the same concepts that I already practice but includes a few new ones.

I do have some white "build up" for lack of a better term on a couple of the beads that I wear that the oils don't remove. Was given a solution to soak the beads in overnight that worked but never knew what was in it.

Any other suggestions would be appreciated from me as well.

c.smith