PDA

View Full Version : Could it be? :)

veena
29 February 2012, 09:10 PM
On a forum today that I joined someone posed a question -- Is Hindu God patheistic -- i.e. Not a being as such but a force that resides within everything in the whole universe. I was actually very intrigued by this statement so which I responded and said, I think that is the fundamental idea and knowledge that encompasses much of Hindu thought. Was I right in saying this?

jakethejake
02 March 2012, 03:36 PM
I feel like this may differ from person to person.

for me, the answer would be a resounding "yes"

I'm a physics and mathematics student. When people ask me how I can have a religion if I'm a physicist, I say, "I see g-d everyday in my work! he is gravity, he is the laws of the universe. he is that.. and more" I see evidence in the elegance and perfection of the cosmos. G-d is the one who holds it together, while containing it at the same time.

I use the universal "he", but only because it is easier to speak of G-d when personified.

I feel that distinction is one that Hinduism constantly hovers around.

One needs to personify G-d, to be able to learn unconditional love. Once a person achieves that, they expand their definition of G-d, and in turn, show unconditional love to everything.

We cannot name G-d, so we use names to describe aspects of G-d. So even in personifying G-d, we are simply personifying attributes of G-d.

yajvan
03 March 2012, 01:14 PM
hariḥ oṁ
~~~~~~

namasté

"I see g-d everyday in my work! he is gravity, he is the laws of the universe. he is that.. and more" I see evidence in the elegance and perfection of the cosmos. G-d is the one who holds it together, while containing it at the same time.

...it is easier to speak of G-d when personified.

...to personify G-d, to be able to learn unconditional love. Once a person achieves that, they expand their definition of G-d, and in turn, show unconditional love to everything.