PDA

View Full Version : Sanskrit and Vedic Forum

Amala
26 March 2012, 06:20 PM
Namaste,

I would love to see a separate forum just for students of these languages. Anyone else?

I propose a forum Sanskrit & Vedic Language Study with 2 subforums: संस्कृत (saṃskṛta) and वेद (veda). I don't know much about Vedic, so I would leave it to those who study that language to suggest subforums for that one. Under the saṃskṛta subforum, I propose it be divided into Grammar, S'lokas and maybe something separate for mp3s and exercises, websites for study, poetry, and then a heading for purely conversational saṃskṛta, which could include writing letters, for which I know Himanshu Pota is a great source. Of course, the forum should be introduced by a prayer to sarasvatī. :-)

I am currently studying with a scholar and when I have the time, would be overjoyed to share what I get out of those studies with others. The motivation would be to grow together, not to only post perfectly honed saṃskṛta, but to explore together. Post anything, flex your muscles... test your wings... make mistakes and learn togethere. Therein is scholarship. :-)

Love & Peace

Aakriti
26 March 2012, 07:34 PM
Yes! :)

I just recently started organized Sanskrit lessons. (American Sanskrit Insitutute, "Sanskrit by CD," www.americansanskrit.com (http://www.americansanskrit.com)), plus "108 Sanskrit Flash Cards with CD by Nicolai Bachman (which is also available from the American Sanskrit Insitute).

I highly recommend both of these. Not only are they superb for learning Sanskrit (with great attention given to the individual sounds), but this is the best foreign language learning systerm for any language I have ever seen anywhere--or even knew existed.

I really wish this exact same "course" existed for French, Ancient Greek, and Xhosa (a language from South Africa). Plus a few others, too! :D