PDA

View Full Version : Cynicism

cuddledkitty
18 April 2012, 07:05 PM
Is it wrong to have a cynical outlook upon others as a (new)Hindu? Growing up i always found this the norm considering people's ill treatment towards me. I am very new at hinduism and would like to know if this is a bad outlook on life.

Mana
19 April 2012, 12:36 AM
Namaste cuddledkitty,

Welcome to HDF, pleased to meet you. We have an introductions folder over here (http://www.hindudharmaforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15); should you feel inclined ;)

There is no wrong or right; With that said, the way in which you feel for, or, about others; will effect directly the way in which they interact with you. This balance is very delicate and in order to find balance; we must persist with positivity in our hearts, as so much as is possible.

If you find this difficult; Think of God at all times !

The world about us will reflect this to us, it becomes much easier with time.

praNAma

mana

Eastern Mind
19 April 2012, 08:01 AM
Vannakkam kitty: In my experience, cynicism is subjective. One person's cynicism is another's realism. If you can be more specific, it might help. Cynical about what in particular?

Aum Namasivaya

Aum namah Śivāya
19 April 2012, 08:36 AM
Is it wrong to have a cynical outlook upon others as a (new)Hindu? Growing up i always found this the norm considering people's ill treatment towards me. I am very new at hinduism and would like to know if this is a bad outlook on life.

नमस्ते,

I agree it depends on what you mean by "cynical." However, I think that to be too cynical is to deny God's essence in that person. I've seen miracles occur because someone has been willing to trust in God and not make assumptions about someone else.