PDA

View Full Version : Absolute beginner...

rog
23 April 2012, 06:28 PM
Hi everyone, I am 45 yrs old man living in rural england.

I have always felt a sense of spiritual need but for long periods of my life I knew I was in a place like I was wandering around looking for a ladder in the dark.

In the darkness of material reality I have groped around and found certain truths about the world but still no answer to the questions I had about the ultimate truths of life and conscious reality.

I tried to be a christian because I could see truth in the message of love and forgiveness but as time went on I found their explanation for this love and the whole construct of christian spiritual reality of God/Devil etc did not fit my sense of reason.

My best awakening from that experience was to know that in seeking spiritual truth I cannot make a 'leap of faith' and claim belief in something my heart does not feel is true. It is just a lie. I hope that is ok for me to say and I'm only speaking from my own conscious perspective.

I have come to this forum because I read the Bhagavad Gita last year. I never sought the book, I was just browsing in a second hand bookshop and picked it up. When I read it, the whole construct of reality presented to me suddenly hit me as almost self evidently true and now there is nearly no 'almost'.:D

I read it carefully and spent time to think about it but it consistently defeated my natural attempts to find contradictions or unreasonable explanations in it.

The Bhagavad Gita has already taught me so much because as I read it I see more about how the big answers relate so directly to my daily life.

I have realised that my journey is likely to be infinitely longer than I ever imagined:D

I find it slow going to work through all the unfamiliar names in the texts as they have no natural meaning to me and are only slowly fixing in my mind so I don't have to look up the meaning - any helpful suggestions?