PDA

View Full Version : Is there a way to read the Gita????

Forest0spirit555
08 June 2012, 06:55 PM
Namaste,

I hope that my questions don't seem overly simple or what not.

I am rather new to Hinduism and was advised to try reading the Gita. I love literature and was very willing. I am currently reading a translated version of the Bhagavad Gita and was finding it enjoyable both as a story and a religious text. Yet coming from a Christian background I have been "trained" to read scripture as though you are searching for a much deeper meaning than what is directly being said. In other words seeing through the parables. I know that all religious texts have some sort of message behind the examples that they give but should I be straining myself to try and find deeper meaning in what apparently is self-explanatory or easily understood in the Gita?

Thank you for your time. Hope this doesn't seem irrelevant or stupid.

God be with you.

philosoraptor
12 June 2012, 02:36 PM
Namaste,

I hope that my questions don't seem overly simple or what not.

I am rather new to Hinduism and was advised to try reading the Gita. I love literature and was very willing. I am currently reading a translated version of the Bhagavad Gita and was finding it enjoyable both as a story and a religious text. Yet coming from a Christian background I have been "trained" to read scripture as though you are searching for a much deeper meaning than what is directly being said. In other words seeing through the parables. I know that all religious texts have some sort of message behind the examples that they give but should I be straining myself to try and find deeper meaning in what apparently is self-explanatory or easily understood in the Gita?

Thank you for your time. Hope this doesn't seem irrelevant or stupid.

God be with you.

Namaste,