PDA

View Full Version : English mantras? Mantras in general.

BloodyRose3000
25 June 2012, 10:31 AM
I'm new to meditation and the overall subject in general, and I was interested in mantras. Why exactly do people use mantras? Are they just to focus your mind? Do they have more to do with a form of prayer? They almost seem like saying a catholic rosary (where the prayers are said repetitively to help you focus on what it is you're meditating on (whether that be the concept of God in general, or a specific prayer).

Also, why do mantras have to be in whatever Indian language they always seem to be in. If part of the hindu idea is that God can manifest itself in different ways and different forms, but all still be the same being, then wouldn't that theory apply to language to some extent. After all, it's not like communication with God, or at least the history of it, was exclusive to India (the way Judaism was originally conceived of as exclusive to a specific chosen people).

Shuddhasattva
25 June 2012, 10:42 AM
Namaste

Good questions.

Fundamentally, in the Hindu philosophy of mantra, the world is formed of vibration/sound - shabda. Brahman, insofar as Brahman is the partless composite of all parts, is the form of vibration - shabdabrahman. Shabdabrahman consists of all the deities. Each deity is associated with a particular sound. Sanskrit is held to be a divinely transmitted language, which correlates more exactly than anything else in its sound/deity correspondence, which is mapped in the esoteric systems of Buddhism. Each varna (letter) is associated with a particular deity, or group of deity. Each bija (seed syllable) is associated with a particular deity. In Vedic times, not only was the correct pronunciation key, but the meter, the cadence, accent, everything, was striven for perfection in.

The sound is important.

In sound, the name and the form comingle.

I recommend as follow up reading the first chapters of John Woodroffe's The Garland of Letters.