Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Shaivite refutation Of Advaita

Shaivite refutation Of Advaita

namastE astu bhagavan vishveshvarAya mahAdevAya tryaMbakAya|
    tripurAntakAya trikAgnikAlAya kAlAgnirudrAya nIlakaNThAya mRtyuJNjayAya sarveshvarAya sadAshivAya shrIman mAhAdevAya ||

Om shrImAtrE namah

sarvam shrI umA-mahEshwara parabrahmArpaNamastu

A Shaivite library
    http://www.scribd.com/HinduismLibrary

Re: Shaivite refutation Of Advaita

Could you outline, in your own words, what the arguments and the counter arguments are?

I will be outlining Abhinavagupta's polemic as and when I get time.First though,two of his arguments not mentioned in the article I posted.

Please note here that I am studying Abhinavagupta's philosophy and his views do not necessarily reflect mine.

He argues that even knowledge (jnana) is an activity (kriya) of the Divine,without activity the Divine Being would be inert and incapable of bringing about anything, least of all the whole cosmos. Parmshiva is svatantra (has free will) and therefore is a Karta (doer). Knowledge (jnana) is not a passive state of consciousness but an activity of consciousness, though an effortless one. Knowledge is not really like the reflection of moon in a pond; in knowledge there is an active “grasping” on the part of the knower which is an activity of mind (kriya).So the Advaitin argument that Brahman is inactive is refuted.

In Tantraloka,Abhinavagupta says that Shankara's philosophy is not true monism as it implies the eternal existence of two entities – Brahaman and Avidya, which amounts to clear dualism.

I would request you go through this thread http://www.hindudharmaforums.com/showthread.php?t=270 before we discuss the topic further.
    Last edited by Omkara; 28 August 2012 at 03:24 AM.
    tripurAntakAya trikAgnikAlAya kAlAgnirudrAya nIlakaNThAya mRtyuJNjayAya sarveshvarAya sadAshivAya shrIman mAhAdevAya ||

Om shrImAtrE namah

A Shaivite library