Thread: Ten avatars of Vishnu, reflecting the scientific evolution.

Ten avatars of Vishnu, reflecting the scientific evolution.

Namaskar,

I wrote an article a few months ago, about the 10 avatars of Vishnu and how it corresponds to the evolution of species as defined by science. However, do note that I am only an amateur and yet have so much to learn about our religion. If I made a mistake in my post, please correct me.

To fight off notorious evil and aristocrats, Lord Vishnu had to make himself visible to humans and come down to destroy the evil and save the pure hearted individuals. It is said that he would appear ten times throughout the history of time, 9 of which has already happened. However, it is interesting to note the correlation between the chronological forms that Vishnu appeared in, and the science of evolution itself.

1. Matsya - the form of a fish, one of the first animal species to evolve. As Matsya, He made sure every species was saved from a great natural disaster, in order to maintain the variety of plant and animal life.

2. Kurma - the form of a turtle (reptile). Reptiles evolved from fishes.

3. Varaha - a boar (mammal). In this third incarnation, Vishnu as Varaha once again removes evil, which is the purpose of his incarnations.

4. Narasimha - in a form of half beast, half human (part human). So slowly you can see how the avatars correspond to the order of species evolving. In this form, Vishnu destroyed an arrogant and ignorant King, who claimed he was immoral. This goes to show that, false pride is unhealthy for our soul.

5. Vamana - a dwarf or an early species of the Homo genus (early human). Evolved from the half beast, half human form.

6. Parashurama - in human form.

7. Rama - in human form.