Thread: Hinduism and Thoughtcriime

Hinduism and Thoughtcrime

Namaste HDF!

I may still be a newbie to Hinduism in general, but one thing I'm not a newbie to and can be considered to be well-versed in are literary concepts, some of which cross over into the philosophical realm. I figured I'd bring up one of those concepts and see what a Hindu perspective might be on it, as I think this might be something I can at least learn from, even if I'm not the most qualified to discuss the Hindu perspective on it.

This concept I'm bringing up is that of the thoughtcrime, as introduced by author George Orwell in his eerily prophetic dystopian novel 1984. If you're wondering what exactly thoughtcrime is, Wikipedia has what amounts to a Cliffs Notes version right here. I'll let you read that before I proceed.

Read it? Good. I will continue.

You might be wondering what Hinduism has to do with thoughtcrime - well, it is in my humble opinion that Hinduism was the first (and quite possibly the only, from what I know) faith to say that thoughts alone should not be considered crimes. The way Hinduism argues this point long before Orwell coined the term thoughtcrime in the first place is what makes it such a beautiful faith. Hinduism argues that there should be no thoughts considered crimes in two ways:

• Emphasizing that it is action combined with thought, rather than action or thought alone, that accrues karma, for good or ill.
    • Providing a means of dealing with thoughts considered impure/evil without having to resort to treating the mere thoughts as crimes.