Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Beginning Krishna worship

Beginning Krishna worship

Hello all,

I would like to include Krishna in my daily worship, I am currently studying the Bhagavad Gita and wish to chant the Maha mantra. I don't really feel as though I am drawn to ISKCON as when it comes to religion I prefer solitude to get in touch with the divine. Of course I am happy to go out into the world and assist others and do my duty but when it comes to chanting and puja I just feel better doing it by myself for now as well as attending a local temple which has a murti of Krishna and Radha which isn't an ISKCON temple.

I suppose I want to know if this is OK, I suspect there are many people who worship Krishna who aren't members of ISKCON and in India it is probably more common then here in the west where the vast majority of Krishna worshipers are to be found in ISKCON.

I won't receive initiation into the Maha mantra will it still be effective?

I suppose I am looking for some general advice on where best to start, currently I worship Shiva but I feel drawn to Krishna and wish to see where it goes, perhaps I will worship both together or perhaps one or the other, it's all part of my personal journey of discovery I suppose.

My thanks,
    Namaste
    ~ Om Namah Shivaya ~

Re: Beginning Krishna worship

Namaste SeekingPeaceOfMind

Since no one has replied, I shall only share information, or what I do or would do. This is not to say this is the only way.

You may worship KRshNa with love, using either
    a) shoDashopchAr - 16 offerings (shoDash = 16 + upachAr = rites/offerings/gestures) OR
    b) panchopchAr - 5 offerings
    c) OR any of the items in a,b OR just one item you offer with love will make Him happy.

KRshNa says in the Bhagavad Gita
    BG 9.26 If one offers Me with love and devotion a leaf, a flower, fruit or water, I will accept it.
    He says "with love" - that is the key. Just a leaf (tulasi leaf) or just some water! He is that simple.