Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mismatched mantra?

Mismatched mantra?

Namaste,

I have a question regarding choosing a mantram. I am new to Hinduism and find myself drawn to Krishna, yet of all the mantrams, aum namah Shivaya seems to resonate the most for me.

Is it uncommon/bad to choose a mantram of a different deity than the one you are compelled to pray to?

Thanks!

Re: Mismatched mantra?

Hari Om!

You didn't mention whether the mantra was given by Guru or not. Is it in fact your Guru Mantra? If so, please do not abandon it under any circumstance.

If that is not the case, I think that you will find many esteemed members of the forum who have had your same experience and have been drawn to Lord Shiva in particular. In my humble opinion, do in fact follow where you are being led. Why?

First, another question. Is Krishna in fact your Ishta? How was He/was He chosen and how?

Next, please realize that you may be drawn to several along the way before you "choose" One for lack of a better word or One "chooses" you. One many lead you to another as may be the case here. In my experience, Lord Ganesha took me to Lord Shiva and I now see Hanuman as the Heart of every God. Hanuman is my Ishta and I do japa of one of his mantras daily. This isn't to say that I don't do others as well including my Guru Mantra. Guruji has given His blessings on such. Being new as you are however, I might suggest a more simple approach and that you choose one and stick with it. See God as One. See God in everything.

My friend, you will find your way if you follow your heart and pray for the blessings of the gods who are so very willing and able to shower their love and compassion.

All the best to you.

Om

Quote Originally Posted by sdevante View Post
    Namaste,

I have a question regarding choosing a mantram. I am new to Hinduism and find myself drawn to Krishna, yet of all the mantrams, aum namah Shivaya seems to resonate the most for me.