Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cold Climate Tropical Gardening, Indoors

Cold Climate Tropical Gardening, Indoors

Namaskar,

My question seems more appropriate here, because I'm most interested in growing plants for Lord Shiva. My question is related to a different thread I didn't want to sidetrack with my own questions. Please move this, if it's more appropriate elsewhere.

I've been looking for a way to get bael leaves here... It seems almost impossible. Even the places I go to for Puja supplies rarely see them. So, being a gardening hobbyist I began wondering about trying to grow a tree. I was encouraged at first as they seem by reputation to be pretty cold hardy. Unfortunately, not to my Horticultural Zone's tolerance though, I'm in zone 6B and it seems the lowest officially recorded tolerance is zone 8, possibly 7.

This leaves greenhouse, (not possible for me), or indoors. The good thing is I have a great room, which incidentally is becoming my new prayer and meditation room. I planned to include plants in the room, it gets great Noon to Evening sun, facing almost due west. Until now, I've been using that room to germinate seedlings for the garden in late winter. But wood apple is a very large tree, and I'm not sure if it would get enough sun in winter.

Then I read another thread here the other day, about growing Rudraksh. It's also a very hardly plant, and it seems some species are considered to be more 'shrubs'. They're also not hardy enough for outdoors in my climate though. But it has started me thinking again, and then the above linked thread prompted me to post and ask.

Does anyone know, is it possible to even manage either of these wonderful plants indoors, perhaps in a kind of 'bonsai' fashion? Unfortunately there is very little information on this online, so I'm kind of left guessing and searching. Is there any advice or guidance anyone could offer in this?

Many thanks in advance for any suggestions.
    Pranam-s
    ~~~~~