Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is it ok to fall in love with lord Vishnu

Is it ok to fall in love with lord Vishnu

Namaste Everyone,

Is it ok to fall in love with Lord Vishnu??

Please advise

Re: Is it ok to fall in love with lord Vishnu

Namaste Ashwin!

I'm still a beginner on the Path, but I know that there are several attitudes a person can have towards God, including the attitude of a spouse. I've read of women who considered themselves married to Vishnu, too.

I'm pretty sure the love is supposed to be of a spiritual kind, but otherwise I don't see why it wouldn't be okay to fall in love like that.

People with more knowledge will surely correct me if I'm wrong.

Senebty, may you be healthy.
    All these things shine.
    May you shine, too!

Namaste Ashwin,

I myself fell in love in with Saraswati and Shakti. It is a rather one sided relationship at first. But if you're love is pure in nature, it will transmute from romantic (if I'm guessing correctly) to that of a universal base line love for all things. If you allow your feelings to evolve that is one step on the right path. I have never considered myself Vaishnava but I do believe love can never be a bad thing in spirituality. Hope that helps

Quote Originally Posted by Ashwin View Post
    Namaste Everyone,

Please advise
    Namaste Ashwin ji,

why do you think it is not correct to fall in love with Vishnu.

Love means attraction. Love is not a lust in spirituality. It is the intensity of attraction of jiva towards paramatman, like a small weak magnet attracted towards big powerful magnet.

Hari OM
    Only God Is Truth, Everything Else Is Illusion - Ramakrishna
    Total Surrender of Ego to SELF is Real Bhakti - Ramana Maharshi

Silence is the study of the scruptures. Meditation is the continuous thinking of Brahman which is to be meditated upon. The complete negation of both by knowledge is the vision of truth – sadAcAra-14 of Adi SankarAcArya