Thread: Goddess Mantras

Goddess Mantras

Hello,
    I am new to the study of Hinduism, meditation, and the use of mantras. As I start upon this path, I find myself drawn to the various forms of the Goddess.
    I have a picture of Lakshmi that I rest my eyes on during meditation. Is it inappropriate/ineffective to use mantras addressing other forms of Adi Parashakti such as Saraswati or Durga while gazing upon this picture or am I free to use any mantras evoking and invoking the Goddess within my consciousness?
    Are there any mantras that you reccomend/like addressing Lakshmi?

Thank you. Peace.

Re: Goddess Mantras

Namaste Ciel Fleur,

I must as always claim no special knowledge or expertise, only my own
    perspective as a Shakta, take my words as only that, no more and no less.

As you are newly drawn to Devi, it is understandable that such a question
    may arise; while She certainly would not punish you for reciting a mantra
    meant for a different form than the murti you are contemplating, this is not
    going to produce meaningful results- hence She probably nudged you to ask this question

A suggested course of action would be to ask within whether it is indeed
    Her form as Sri Lakshmi that you are being drawn toward; She will answer
    you, one way or another. I am assuming you as of now do not have a guru
    or particular sampradaya you are following- in such circumstances, it is
    wise to proceed slowly and gently, and to continue to ask Devi Herself to
    help guide your way.

There are of course mantras specific to Sri Lakshmi, as there are for every
    form of Devi- but there are those that are only meant to be given, and
    those which are "OK" for anyone. Remember, there is no rush- it is said
    that for every step you take toward Her, She will take three steps closer
    to you

JAI MATA DI
    || जय माता की ||

Namaste

Good question,good answer.
    Some more questions.