Thread: ॐ as God

1. Question ॐ as God

Namaste,

I'm interested in knowing whether there are any sampradayas, that only refer to the vibration of the syllable OM (ॐ) as God? I started playing the didgeridoo and it resonates so much with the syllable om that I use it in my meditation practice and I feel ॐ's healing powers. I've never read the Vedas nor do I have access to any gurus near me so my knowledge of Sanatana Dharma is very limited.

Can I focus only on the syllable OM as a form of Bhakti? Coming from an atheist background (now ardent theist) I am not used to puja or murtis but I am a devotional person in every aspect of my life.

And lastly, can OM be brahman worthy of worship?

PS: I'm new to this forum but I've read a lot on here to grasp the complex philosophies of many sampradayas. If any of you don't mind I kinda use this forum as a source of reference.

Re: ॐ as God

Dear friend ,
    Yes , you can worship ' OM ' as God . The meditation on 'OM ' leads to the realistion of Absolute reality. A person who wants to conquer his internal enemies ,who wants to get release from all chains of imprisonments who wants to lead the life according to righteous principles has to do 'OM' It is the easiest sadhana . 'OM ' leads to infinity and eternity .Where any other manthra is taken , the purpose is limited . Om encompasses all the other manthras and deities where as other manthras and deities are limited to that particular deity , though it is said ultimately all manthra sadhanas lead to the same absolute Brahman .

namaste.

ॐ is a part of almost all mantras and rituals used in Hindu pujas, which also involve meditation on the NirguNa Brahman it represents. If you do a google-search with the text "aum meditation" you would find that our gurus like YogAnandA and others advocate it.

However, I would use the gAyatrI mantra for chanting and meditation as it describes the manifestation of aum as the foundation of everything.
    रत्नाकरधौतपदां हिमालयकिरीटिनीम् ।