Thread: Help me..To find best yoga school In India

Help me..To find best yoga school In India

Hello friends
    I am Minakshi from Pune, by profession i am a gym trainer, actually I want to learn yoga and start teaching in my gym. But I am confused where to learn yoga, I want to learn yoga from a reputed and genuine yoga center in India. One of my student suggests me to get yoga certification from Arhanta Yoga Ashram, Khajuraho, India. It is a registered yoga school from international yoga alliance. But I have never been Khajuraho and don’t know about the authenticity of this yoga school, I have only visited its website http://www.arhantayogaindia.com. Please suggest me which school is the best to learn yoga, my budget is good.
    Thanx
    Minakshi

Re: Help me..To find best yoga school In India

hariḥ oṁ
    ~~~~~~
    namasté
    minakshijain writes,

I want to learn yoga and start teaching in my gym.
    This is a noble request. So, one needs to be aware of this yoga from a few angles . One is how its defined classically by its roots and the other is how patañjali defines it in his yogadarśana (the yoga sūtras of Patañjali) - this can be addressed if there is interest. Yet it my assessment minakshijain is considering it from the view of ~exercise and stretching~ no doubt.

Let's take a look , and then let me offer one idea for minakshijain to consider in his quest for a school of yoga.

Yoga is rooted in yuj the act of yoking , joining , attaching, harnessing. But to what? To the Supreme, to pure awareness, to bind one back to the source, to yoke one back to anuttara ( the Supreme). Yoga is also defined as a means , expedient , device , way , manner , a method.

Hence with 'method' we get various yoga-s; here are some of the names of the major approaches:
    • rāja ( some write rāj ) - king , sovereign , chief or best of its kind
    • karma (some write karman) - action consisting in motion ; act, special duty, skill in action