Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is the root of all human suffering?

What is the root of all human suffering?

I am studying Hinduism, and I understand that suffering is caused by ignorance. Could someone elaborate on this for me to better understand this concept?

Re: What is the root of all human suffering?

Dear friend ,
    Suffering is self done . When one sows neem seed one can't expect mango fruit by any stretch of imagination ,convincing himself or herself that God is personification of love and mercy . God is energy and reflects energy , though gets subdued by intense repentance because repentance also produces different kind of energy .

Namaste Gelicca,

Quote Originally Posted by gelicaa View Post
    I am studying Hinduism, and I understand that suffering is caused by ignorance. Could someone elaborate on this for me to better understand this concept?
    You need to grasp the meaning of terms used in the context :

"ignorance" means ===> Ignorance about one's True Nature which is untainted ever blissful. Due to ignorance, being identifies itself with "Body" "Mind", "Ego", "Intellect" which it is not and that is the main reason for all sufferings.

"Suffering" can be a sad state but even a worldly happy state is also suffering as it is not ever blissful state and it is devoid of freedom. "Sad state of Suffering" is due to delusion and due to bad Karma accumulated by the being. "Happy state of Suffering" is due to delusion and due to good accumulated karmas.

"Karma" means any activity of mind and body. Even a thought creates Karma. This can be both good and bad. If it is for happiness of all beings it is good Karma and if creates pains and sufferings to any being, it generates bad Karma.

OM
    "Om Namo Bhagvate Vaasudevaye"

Om

namaste

What is meant by "suffering" ?