Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Your plan to honor Devi?

Your plan to honor Devi?

Namaste,

The holy navaratras are about to commence. What's your plan to honor Devi(s)?

I will be reciting Chatusloki, Mahalakshmi Ashtottaram, Durga Ashtottaram, Sarawathi Ashtottaram each day... I will not be reciting my usual parayana stotras, in order to make time to recite ones appropriate for devi.

I was looking into reciting Durga Saptashati, however it seems daunting to me as it is huge, I'm new to pronunciation and thirdly, one needs to follow certain rules to recite it in a specific number of days. However, I would like to know if there are any Saptashati newbies like me who have plans to recite it for the first time this Navaratri...

Happy chanting & praying!

Viraja
    jai hanuman gyan gun sagar jai kapis tihu lok ujagar

Re: Your plan to honor Devi?

Namaste Viraja,

I will be on "Fruit diet" for all the nine days. We do Kalash/Ghata Sthapana (as a symbol of Ma Durga) at home on first day i.e. Mahalaya and after that every day one form of Goddess is worshipped i.e. First Shailputri, then BrahmachAriNi, then ChandraghantA, then KushmAnDa, then SkandamAtA, then KAtyAyani, then KAlrAtri, then MahAgauri and finally SiddhidAtri.

On ninth day, we invite unmarried girls and offer them food, dakshinA and some gifts. The Puja ends with Homam (Sacrificing in Fire).

OM
    "Om Namo Bhagvate Vaasudevaye"

Namaste

I will be going for darshan as much as posfible to our local Devi of my area.
    Here is Her picture (below). She is Durga. She is the Goddess of our area.

Namaste!

I will be attending temple every day for morning aarti. Except Saturday as I will be too far from my temple so I will attend a different one in the morning. I've written it down, that means I'm gonna do it!

Namaste friends,