Thread: Fundamentals of Advaitha - Request from a newbie

1. Fundamentals of Advaitha - Request from a newbie

Dear Patrons,

I am a newbie and I would like to have an idea on basics or fundamentals of Advaitha and If any of honorable members can help me by suggesting link or book or ebook, it would be very nice.

Thanks again,

Namaskarams,
    Vipranarayanan

Re: Fundamentals of Advaitha - Request from a newbie

"Om Namo Bhagvate Vaasudevaye"

Hi,

Unlike user devotee, I would suggest that you do NOT jump into any threads online.

To understand the intricacies of our various darshanas, it is a much better idea to become familiar with the basics using a physical book. Get a hold of a good translation of the Samkhyakarika to understand the intricacies of Samkhya. Once you understand Samkhya, you will be well prepared on the basis Advaita builds its metaphysics on.

Also, get a hold of Shankara's commentary on the Bhagavad Gita and his Brahmasutrabhasya.

All of the books mentioned above are available at a very reasonable price here.

Namaste Vipranarayanan,

Please go through the blog I have written below

http://hindudharmaforums.com/entry.p...within-Advaita.

Also for a better understanding of Advaita Vedanta please read the book Introduction to Vedanta by Dayananda Saraswati.

He introduces the subject in a beautiful way. There are many videos of his as well on youtube.

Just know that terms with in Sankhya and Yoga philosophy is used in all Darshanas of Hindu Dharma.

5. Re: Fundamentals of Advaitha - Request from a newbie

Thanks to patrons "devotee", "wundermonk" and "Sriram257" for valuable and woderful replies. I will religiously go through the suggestions by them .

Thanks again,
    Vipranarayanan