Thread: How often does one perform puja?

How often does one perform puja?

Namaste,

I am new to Sanatana Dharma, and I don't have an altar. My practice so far has consisted of reading and meditation. I don't wish to pray for material gain, but in the Bhagavad Gita, one is verily a thief who takes and does not give something back.

So, may I ask, what is your regular practice? How often should I perform puja? Is it purely up to me and my circumstances?

Thank you for any response.

Respectfully submitted,
    OregonDharmi

Re: How often does one perform puja?

Namaste,

The amount of time that you spend on puja, meditation, learning and reciting bhajans, visiting a temple, studying various scriptures, finding and associating with like minded people, all depends on your passion, your time constraints and your finances. Generally speaking, the devotees perform a puja twice a day - morning and evening. There are no strict guidelines and there are so many different strains of Hinduism that if you ask 10 different people on what to follow, you might get 10 different answers. So, you have to personalise your effort according to your circumstances and your commitment.

Pranam.

Quote Originally Posted by OregonDharmi View Post
    Namaste,

So, may I ask, what is your regular practice? How often should I perform puja? Is it purely up to me and my circumstances?
    Namaste to you too.

As Believer said,
    ask 10 different people on what to do and you will get 10 different answers. Sometimes you'll see articles that are extremely strict; another says don't be put off by that. Everyone does have their own way. I do a little puja and aarti, about 15-20 mins., almost every morning before I go out. I've only recently added the aarti at the end of puja. My puja is really very simple:

• Light the oil lamps and an incense stick. I put some gandha (sandalwood paste) an kumkum on my forehead.
    • Pray to Lord Ganesha.